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Search
Engine Optimization & Marketing
Glossary
301 Redirect – A message that the URL has moved
permanently. This is commonly used when a URL has a new location
and will not be appearing again at the old URL.
302 Redirect – A “found” message. (Also referred to as
a “temporary redirect.”) This form of redirection is commonly
used -- and in some cases abused -- when a URL has been moved to
a different location; but, it will be returning to the original
location eventually.
403 Server Code – A “forbidden” message. Prevents
access to a URL and displays the reason for preventing access.
404 Server Code – A “not found” message. Server cannot
find the URL requested.
A
AJAX – Stands for Asynchronous JavaScript
and XML. Ajax is a programming language that allows for the
updating of specific sections of content on a web page, without
completely reloading the page.
API – Acronym for Application Programming Interface.
This is a program that advertisers create to manage their SEM
campaigns, bypassing the search engines’ interfaces.
A/B Testing – A/B testing, at its simplest, is
randomly showing a visitor one version of a page – (A) version
or (B) version – and tracking the changes in behavior based on
which version they saw. (A) version is normally your existing
design (“control” in statistics lingo); and (B) version is the
“challenger” with one copy or design element changed. In a
“50/50 A/B split test,” you’re flipping a coin to decide which
version of a page to show. A classic example would be comparing
conversions resulting from serving either version (A) or (B),
where the versions display different headlines. A/B tests are
commonly applied to clicked-on ad copy and landing page copy or
designs to determine which version drives the more desired
result. See also Multivariate Testing.
Absolute URL’s Link - Absolute URLs use the full-path
address, such as http://www.domain.com/page1.htm. (See also
Relative URL’s link.)
Acquisition Strategy – A process of finding those
potential customers who are in the market and ready to buy. The
attempt to lead customers to a web site and to welcome them,
answer their questions and close the sale.
Ad – Advertisements a searcher sees after submitting a
query in a search engine or web site search box. In PPC, these
ads are usually text format, with a Title, Description and
Display URL. In some cases, a keyword the searcher used in his
or her query appears boldfaced in the displayed ad. Ads can be
positioned anywhere on a search results page; commonly they
appear at the top – above the natural or organic listings – and
on the right side of the page, also known as “Right Rail.”
Ad Copy – The main text of a clickable search or
context-served ad. It usually makes up the second and third
lines of a displayed ad, between the Ad Title and the Display
URL.
Ad Title – The first line of text displayed in a
clickable search or context-served ad. Ad Titles serve as ad
headlines.
Affiliate Marketing – Affiliate marketing is a process
of revenue sharing that allows merchants to duplicate sales
efforts by enlisting other web sites as a type of outside sales
force. Successful affiliate marketing programs result in the
merchant attracting additional buyers, and the affiliate earning
the equivalent of a referral fee, based on click-through
referrals to the merchant site.
Algorithm – A set of rules that a search engine uses
to rank listings in response to a query. Search engines guard
their algorithms closely, as they are the unique formulas used
to determine relevancy. Algorithms are sometimes referred to as
the ”secret sauce.”
ALT Text – Also known as alternative text or alt
attribute. An HTML tag (ALT tag) used to provide images with
a text description in the event images are turned off in a web
browser. The images text description is usually visible while
“hovering” over the image. This tag is also important for the
web access of the visually impaired.
Anchor Text - Words used to link to a page, known as
anchor text are an important signal to search engines to
determine a page’s relevance.
Arbitrage – A practice through which web publishers –
second tier search engines, directories and vertical search
engines – engage in the buying and reselling of web traffic.
Typically, arbitrage occurs when such publishers pool client
budgets to engage in PPC campaigns on Tier I search engines
(Google, Yahoo!, MSN). If the publishers pay $0.10 per click for
traffic, they typically resell those visitors to clients who bid
$0.20 or more for the same keywords. Successful arbitrage
requires that the arbitrageur must pay less per click than what
the traffic sells for. The variation called Affiliate Arbitrage
involves a web site owner or blogger bidding on keywords from
programs such as Yahoo! Search Marketing or Google AdWords, who
then links the ads, either to their own web site, or directly to
a merchant site displaying ads (from programs such as the Yahoo!
Publisher Network or Google AdSense).
Auction Model Bidding – The most popular
type of PPC bidding. First, an advertiser determines what
maximum amount per click they are willing to spend for a
keyword. If there is no competition for that keyword, the
advertiser pays their bid, or less, for every click. If there is
competition at auction for that keyword, then the advertiser
with the highest bid will pay one penny more than their nearest
competitor. For example, advertiser A is willing to bid up to
$0.50; advertiser B is willing to bid up to $0.75. If advertiser
A’s actual bid is $0.23, then advertiser B will only pay $0.24
per click. Also referred to as market or competition-driven
bidding.
Automatic Optimization – Search engines
identify which ad for an individual advertiser demonstrates the
highest CTR (click-through rate) as time progresses, and then
optimizes the ad serve, showing that ad more often than other
ads in the same Ad Group/Ad Order.
B
B2B – Stands for “Business to Business.” A business
that markets its services or products to other businesses.
B2C – Stands for “Business to
Consumer.” A business that markets its services or products to
consumers.
Backlinks – All the links pointing at a particular web
page. Also called inbound links. Source: Webmaster
World Forums
Ban – Also known as Delisting. Refers to a
punitive action imposed by a search engine in response to being
spammed. Can be an IP address of a specific URL
Baseline Metrics – Time-lagged calculations (usually
averages of one sort or another) which provide a basis for
making comparisons of past performance to current performance.
Baselines can also be forward-looking, such establishing a goal
and seeking to determine whether the trends show the likelihood
of meeting that goal. They become an essential piece of a Key
Performance Indicator (KPI).
Behavioral Targeting – The practice of targeting and
serving ads to groups of people who exhibit similarities not
only in their location, gender or age, but also in how they act
and react in their online environment. Behaviors tracked and
targeted include web site topic areas they frequently visit or
subscribe to; subjects or content or shopping categories for
which they have registered, profiled themselves or requested
automatic updates and information, etc.
Bid – The maximum amount of money that an advertiser
is willing to pay each time a searcher clicks on an ad. Bid
prices can vary widely depending on competition from other
advertisers and keyword popularity.
Bid Boosting – A form of automated bid management that
allows you to increase your bids when ads are served to someone
whose age or gender matches your target market. This level of
demographic focus and the “bid boosting” tool are current
Microsoft adCenter offerings.
Bid Management Software - Software that manages PPC
campaigns automatically, called either rules-based (with
triggering rules or conditions set by the advertiser) or
intelligent software (enacting real-time adjustments based on
tracked conversions and competitor actions). Both types of
automatic bid management programs monitor and change bid prices,
pause campaigns, manage budget maximums, adjust multiple keyword
bids based on CTR, position ranking and more.
Black Box Algorithms – Black box is technical
jargon for a when system is viewed primarily in terms of input
and output characteristics. A black box algorithm is one
where the user cannot see the inner workings of the algorithm.
All search engine algorithms are hidden.
Blacklists - A list of Web sites that are considered
off limits or dangerous. A Web site can be placed on a blacklist
because it is a fraudulent operation or because it exploits
browser vulnerabilities to send spyware and other unwanted
software to the user.
Blogs – A truncated form for “web log.” A blog is a
frequently updated journal that is intended for general public
consumption. They usually represent the personality of the
author or web site. .
Brand – Customer or user experience represented by
images and ideas, often referring to a symbol (name, logo,
symbols, fonts, colors), a slogan and a design scheme. Brand
recognition and other reactions are created by the accumulation
of experiences with the specific product or service, both from
its use, and as influenced by advertising, design and media
commentary. Brand is often developed to represent implicit
values, ideas and even personality. Source: Wikipedia
Brand and Branding – “A brand is a customer experience
represented by a collection of images and ideas; often, it
refers to a symbol such as a name, logo, slogan, and design
scheme. Brand recognition and other reactions are created by the
accumulation of experiences with the specific product or
service, both directly relating to its use, and through the
influence of advertising, design, and media commentary.” (Added
Definition) “A brand often includes an explicit logo, fonts,
color schemes, symbols, sound which may be developed to
represent implicit values, ideas, and even personality.”
Source: Wikipedia
Brand Lift – A measurable increase in consumer
recall for a specific, branded company, product or service. For
example, brand lift might show an increase in respondents who
think of Dell for computers, or WalMart for “every household
thing.”
Brand Messaging – Creative messaging that presents and
maintains a consistent corporate image across all media
channels, including search.
Brand Reputation - The position a company brand
occupies.
Branding Strategy – The attempt to develop a strong
brand reputation on the web to increase brand recognition and
create a significant volume of impressions.
Bridge Page – Often used to describe the web pages
that linked together many doorway pages on a web site. Also see:
Doorway Page, Hallway Page.
Bucket – An associative grouping for related concepts,
keywords, behaviors and audience characteristics associated with
your company's product or service. A “virtual container” of
similar concepts used to develop PPC keywords, focus ad
campaigns and target messages.
Buying Funnel – Also called the Buying Cycle,
Buyer Decision Cycle and Sales Cycle, Buying
Funnel refers to a multi-step process of a consumer’s path to
purchase a product – from awareness to education to preferences
and intent to final purchase.
Buzz Monitoring Services – Services that will email a
client regarding their status in an industry. Most buzz or
publicity monitoring services will email anytime a company’s
name, executives, products, services or other keyword-based
information on them are mentioned on the web. Some services
charge a fee; others, such as Yahoo! and Google Alerts, are
free.
Buzz Opportunities – Topics popular in the
media and with specific audiences that receive news coverage or
pass along recommendations that help increase exposure for a
brand. Ways to uncover potential buzz opportunities include
reviewing incoming traffic to a web site from organic links and
developing new keywords to reach those visitors, or scanning
special interest blogs and social media sites to learn what new
topics attract rising interest, also to develop new keywords and
messages.
C
COA – Acronym for Cost of Acquisition, which is how
much it costs to acquire a conversion (desired action), such as
a sale.
CPA – Acronym for Cost Per Acquisition (sometimes
called Cost Per Action), which is the total cost of an ad
campaign divided by the number of conversions. For example, if a
campaign cost $100 and resulted in 5 conversions, the CPA is $20
($100 / 5). It cost $20 to generate one conversion.
CPA or “Cost Per Acquisition” – Also referred to as
“Cost Per Action.” This is a metric used to measure the total
monetary cost of each sale, lead or action from start to finish.
CPC – Acronym for Cost Per Click, or the amount search
engines charge advertisers for every click that sends a searcher
to the advertiser’s web site. For an advertiser, CPC is the
total cost for each click-through received when its ad is
clicked on.
CPC or “Cost Per Click” - Some search engines
charge advertisers a cost for every click sent to their web
site. The “CPC” is the total cost for each click received.
CPM – Acronym for Cost Per Thousand Impressions (ad
serves or potential viewers). Compare to CPC pricing (defined
above). CPM is a standard monetization model for offline display
ad space, as well as for some context-based networks serving
online search ads to, for example, web publishers and sites.
CPM or “Cost Per Thousand” – A unit of measure
typically assigned to the cost of displaying an ad. If an ad
appears on a web page 1,000 times and costs $5, then the CPM
would be $5. In this instance, every 1,000 times an ad appeared,
it would incur a charge of $5.
CPO – Acronym for Cost Per Order. The dollar amount of
advertising or marketing necessary to acquire an order.
Calculated by dividing marketing expenses by the number of
orders. Also referred to as CPA (Cost Per Acquisition).
CTR – Acronym for Click-Through Rate, the number of
clicks that an ad gets, divided by the total number of times
that ad is displayed or served. (Represented as: total clicks /
total impressions for a specific ad = CTR). For example, if an
ad has 100 impressions and 6 clicks, the CTR is 6%. The higher
the CTR, the more visitors your site is receiving; CTR also
factors into you advertiser search engine Quality Score and,
therefore, your minimum keyword bids on Tier I engines.
Campaign Integration – Planning and executing a
paid search campaign concurrently with other marketing
initiatives, online or offline, or both. More than simply
launching simultaneous campaigns, true paid search integration
takes all marketing initiatives into consideration prior to
launch, such as consistent messaging and image, driving offline
conversions, supporting brand awareness, increasing response
rates and contributing to ROI business goals.
Canonicalization – The process of picking the best URL
when there are several choices; this usually refers to home
pages. Source: Matt Cutts Blog: SEO Advice. In addition,
“Canonicalization is the process of converting data that has
more than one possible representation into a "standard"
canonical representation. This can be done to compare different
representations for equivalence, to count the number of distinct
data structures (e.g., in combinatorics), to improve the
efficiency of various algorithms by eliminating repeated
calculations, or to make it possible to impose a meaningful
sorting order.” Source: Wikipedia
Cascading Style Sheets or CSS – An addition to your
HTML, a web site’s “cascading style sheet” contains information
on paragraph layout, font sizes, colors, etc. A cascading style
sheet has many uses as far as search engine optimization and web
site design are concerned.
Click Bot – A program generally used to artificially
click on paid listings within the engines in order to
artificially inflate click amounts.
Click Fraud – Clicks on a Pay-Per-Click advertisement
that are motivated by something other than a search for the
advertised product or service. Click fraud may be the result of
malicious or negative competitor/affiliate actions motivated by
the desire to increase costs for a competing advertiser or to
garner click-through costs for the collaborating affiliate. Also
affects search engine results by diluting the quality of clicks.
Click Through - When a user clicks on a hypertext link
and is taken to the destination of that link
Click Through Rate – The percentage of those clicking
on a link out of the total number who see the link. For example,
imagine 10 people do a web search. In response, they see links
to a variety of web pages. Three of the 10 people all choose one
particular link. That link then has a 30 percent click-through
rate. Also called CTR. Source: Webmaster World Forums
Client-side Tracking - Client-side tracking entails
the process of tagging every page that requires tracking on the
Web site with a block of JavaScript code. This method is cookie
based (available as first or third party cookies) and is readily
available to companies who do not own or manage their own
servers.
Cloaking - The process by which a web site can display
different versions of a web page under different circumstances.
It is primarily used to show an optimized or a content-rich page
to the search engines and a different page to humans. Most major
search engine representatives have publicly stated that they do
not approve of this practice.
Comment - The text contained within a “comment”
tag in a web page. “Comments” are used in a variety of
situations, such as communication between web developers and
Cascading Style Sheets (See Above).
Competitive Analysis – As used in SEO, CA is the
assessment and analysis of strengths and weaknesses of competing
web sites, including identifying traffic patterns, major traffic
sources, and keyword selection.
Consumer Generated Media (CGM) - Refers to posts made
by consumers to support or oppose products, web sites, or
companies, which are very powerful when it comes to company
image. It can reach a large audience and, therefore, may change
your business overnight.
Content Management Systems (CMS) - In computing, a
content management system (CMS) is a document centric
collaborative application for managing documents and other
content. A CMS is often a web application and often it is used
as a method of managing web sites and web content. The market
for content management systems remains fragmented, with many
open source and proprietary solutions available. Source:
Wikipedia.org
Content Network – Also called Contextual Networks,
content networks include Google and Yahoo! Contextual Search
networks that serve paid search ads triggered by keywords
related to the page content a user is viewing.
Content Targeting – An ad serving process in Google
and Yahoo! that displays keyword triggered ads related to the
content or subject (context) of the web site a user is viewing.
Contrast to search network serves, in which an ad is displayed
when a user types a keyword into the search box of a search
engine or one of its partner sites.
Contextual Advertising – Advertising that is
automatically served or placed on a web page based on the page’s
content, keywords and phrases. Contrast to a SERP (search engine
result page) ad display. For example, contextual ads for digital
cameras would be shown on a page with an article about
photography, not because the user entered “digital cameras” in a
search box.
Contextual Distribution – The marketing decision to
display search ads on certain publisher sites across the web
instead of, or in addition to, placing PPC ads on search
networks.
Contextual Network – Also called Content Ads
and Content Network, contextual network ads are
served on web site pages adjacent to content that contains the
keywords being bid upon. Contextual ads are somewhat like
traditional display ads placed in print media and, like
traditional ad buys, are often purchased on the same CPM (cost
per thousand impressions) model for purchased keywords, rather
than a CPC basis
Contextual Search – A search that analyzes the page
being viewed by a user and gives a list of related search
results. Offered by Yahoo! and Google.
Contextual Search Campaigns – A paid placement search
campaign that takes a search ad listing beyond search engine
results pages and onto the sites of matched content web
partners.
Conversion Action – The desired action you want a
visitor to take on your site. Includes purchase, subscription to
the company newsletter, request for follow-up or more
information (lead generation), download of a company free offer
(research results, a video or a tool), subscription to company
updates and news.
Conversion Rate - Conversion rates are measurements
that determine how many of your prospects perform the prescribed
or desired action step. If your prescribed response is for a
visitor to sign up for a newsletter, and you had 100 visitors
and 1 newsletter signup, then your conversion rate would be 1%.
Typically, micro-conversions (for instance, reading different
pages on your site) lead to your main conversion step (making a
purchase, or signing up for a service).
Conversion Rate – The number of visitors who convert
(take a desired action at your site) after clicking through on
your ad, divided by the total number of click-throughs to your
site for that ad. (Expressed as: total click-throughs that
convert / total click-throughs for that ad = conversion rate.)
For example, if an ad brings in 150 click-throughs and 6 of the
150 clicks result in a desired conversion, then the conversion
rate is 4% (6 / 150 = 0.04). Higher conversion rates generally
translate into more successful PPC campaigns with a better ROI.
Copyright – Protection and ownership of works or
expressions fixed in a tangible form, including words, art,
images, sounds, and music. Copyright gives the owner the
exclusive right to copy, display, license, or expand the work.
Copyrights cover virtually any original expression; and the
protection arises under common law as soon as the original
expression is created (fixed in tangible form). However, proving
ownership of the original expression may be difficult legally,
unless the work was displayed or used publicly at a verifiable
point in time.
Crawler – Automated programs in search engines that
gather web site listings by automatically crawling the web. A
search engine's crawler (also called a spider or robot) “reads”
page text contents and web page coding, and also follows links
to other hyperlinked pages on the web pages it crawls. A crawler
makes copies of the web pages found and stores these in the
search engine's index, or database.
Crawler: Also known as a bot and spider,
a crawler is a program that search engines use to seek out
information on the web. The act of “crawling” on a web site is
referred to when the crawler begins to search through documents
contained within the web site. Also see Index.
Creatives – Unique words, design and display of a
paid-space advertisement. In paid search advertising, creative
refers to the ad’s title (headline), description (text offer)
and display URL (clickable link to advertiser’s web site landing
page). Unique creative display includes word emphasis
(boldfaced, italicized, in quotes), typeface style and, on some
sites, added graphic images, logos, animation or video clips.
Custom Feed – Create custom feeds for each of the
shopping engines that allow you to submit XML feeds. Each of the
engines has different product categories and feed requirements.
D
DHTML – Stands for Dynamic Hypertext Markup Language.
DKI – Acronym for Dynamic Keyword Insertion, the
insertion of the EXACT keywords a searcher included in his or
her search request in the returned ad title or description. As
an advertiser, you have bid on a table or cluster of these
keyword variations, and DKI makes your ad listings more relevant
to each searcher.
DMCA – Acronym for Digital Millennium Copyright Act.
“The Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA) is a United States
copyright law which….criminalizes production and dissemination
of technology, devices, or services that are used to circumvent
measures that control access to copyrighted works (commonly
known as DRM), and criminalizes the act of circumventing an
access control, even when there is no infringement of copyright
itself. [Circumvention of controlled access includes
unscrambling, copying, sharing, commercial recording or reverse
engineering copyrighted entertainment or software.] It also
heightens the penalties for copyright infringement on the
Internet.” Source: Wikipedia
Dayparting – The ability to specify different times of
day – or day of week – for ad displays, as a way to target
searchers more specifically. An option that limits serves of
specified ads based on day and time factors.
Deep Linking – Linking that guides, directs and links
a click-through searcher (or a search engine crawler) to a very
specific and relevant product or category web page from search
terms and PPC ads.
Description Tag - Refers to the information contained
in the description META tag. This tag is meant to hold the brief
description of the web page it is included on. The information
contained in this tag is generally the description displayed
immediately after the main link on many search engine result
pages.
Directory Search – Also known as a search directory.
Refers to a directory of web sites contained in an engine that
are categorized into topics. The main difference between a
search directory and a search engine is in how the listings are
obtained. A search directory relies on user input in order to
categorize and include a web site. Additionally, a directory
usually only includes higher-level pages of a domain.
Display URL – The web page URL that one
actually sees in a PPC text ad. Display URL usually appears as
the last line in the ad; it may be a simplified path for the
longer actual URL, which is not visible.
Distribution Network – A network of web sites (content
publishers, ISPs) or search engines and their partner sites on
which paid ads can be distributed. The network receives
advertisements from the host search engine, paid for with a CPC
or CPM model. For example, Google’s advertising network includes
not only the Google search site, but also searchers at AOL,
Netscape and the New York Post online edition, among
others.
Domain – Refers to a specific web site address.
Doorway Page – A web page specifically created in
order to obtain rankings within the natural listings of a search
engine. These pages generally are filled with keywords and are
meant to funnel surfers into the main web site. This practice is
generally considered an outdated spam tactic. This term is not
to be confused with a “landing page.”
Dynamic Landing Pages – Dynamic landing pages are web
pages to which click-through searchers are sent that generate
changeable (not static) pages with content specifically relevant
to the keyword search. For example, if a user is looking for
trucks, then a dynamic landing page with information and
pictures on multiple models and, possibly, geographically
localized dealerships might be served. The term truck
would trigger a data dump into a web site template for all
possible vehicles, that serves all truck-related information.
Dynamic Text (Insertion) – This is text, a keyword or
ad copy that customizes search ads returned to a searcher by
using parameters to insert the desired text somewhere in the
title or ad. When the search query (for example, “hybrid cars”)
matches the defined parameter (for example, all brands of
electric/gasoline passenger cars AND SUVs), then the associated
term (hybrid) is plugged into the ad. Dynamic insertion makes
the ad mirror exact terms used in the search query, creating
very relevant ads. See also DKI (Dynamic Keyword Insertion).
E
eCPM – Acronym for Effective Cost Per Thousand, a
hybrid Cost-Per-Click (CPC) auction calculated by multiplying
the CPC times the click-through rate (CTR), and multiplying that
by one thousand. (Represented by: (CPC x CTR) x 1000 = eCPM.)
This monetization model is used by Google to rank site-targeted
CPM ads (in the Google content network) against keyword-targeted
CPC ads (Google AdWords PPC) in their hybrid auction.
Ecommerce - Conducting commercial transactions on the
internet where goods, information or services are bought and
sold.
Editorial Review Process – A review process for
potential advertiser listings conducted by search engines, which
check to ensure relevancy and compliance with the engine’s
editorial policy. This process could be automated – using a
spider to crawl ads – or it could be human editorial ad review.
Sometimes it’s a combination of both. Not all PPC Search Engines
review listings.
Entry Page – Refers to any page within a web site that
a user employs to “enter” your web site. Also see Landing
Page.
Eye Tracking Studies – Studies by Google, Marketing
Sherpa and Poynter Institute using Eyetools technology to track
the eye movements of web page readers, in order to understand
reading and click-through patterns.
F
FAQ – Stands for “Frequently Asked Questions.”
F.F.A – Stands for “Free for All” link pages. These
are not search engines or directories. They are, for the most
part, pages that simply take URL submissions that usually stay
active for a period of time. A submission is placed at the top
of their list and then moved down, and eventually out, as other
submissions are made. These are seen as outdated and were used
in an attempt to artificially inflate link popularity.
F.T.P – Stands for “File Transfer Protocol.”
Feeds – A web document that is a shortened or updated
(revised content only) version of a web page created for
syndication. Usually served at user request, through
subscription; also includes ad feeds to shopping engines and
paid-inclusion ad models. Ad feeds are usually in Extensible
Markup Language (XML) or Rich Site Summary (RSS) format.
Flash – “Flash technology has become a popular method
for adding animation and interactivity to web pages; several
software products, systems, and devices are able to create or
display Flash. Flash is commonly used to create animation,
advertisements, various web page components, to integrate video
into web pages, and more recently, to develop rich internet
applications.” Source: Wikipedia
Frames - HTML technique that allows two or more pages
to display in one browser window. Many search engines had
trouble indexing web sites that used frames, generally only
seeing the contents of a single frame. See also “No Frames.”
G
G.U.I – Stands for “Graphical User Interface.” Means a
visual representation of the functional code. Or, is a way for
the average web user to interface with a database, program, etc.
Gateway page – See Doorway Page.
Geo-Targeting – The geographic location of the
searcher. Geo-targeting allows you to specify where your ads
will or won’t be shown based on the searcher’s location,
enabling more localized and personalized results.
H
.htaccess file – A file with one or more configuration
directives placed in a web site document directory. The
directives apply to that directory and all subdirectories.
HTTP – Stands for “Hypertext Transfer Protocol.”
HTTPS – Stands for “Hypertext Transfer Protocol
Secure.”
HTTP Referrer Data – A program included in most web
analytics packages that analyzes and reports the source of
traffic to the user’s web site. The HTTP referrer allows
webmasters, site owners and PPC advertisers to uncover new
audiences or sites to target or to calculate conversions and ROI
for future ad campaigns.
Head Terms – Search terms that are short, popular and
straightforward; e.g., "helicopter skiing." These short terms
are called "head terms" based on a bell-curve distribution of
keyword usage that displays the high numbers of most-used terms
at the “head” end of the bell curve graph. See also Tail
Terms.
Hidden text -- (Also known as Invisible text.)
Text that is visible to the search engines but hidden to a user.
It is traditionally accomplished by coloring a block of HTML
text the same color as the background color of the page. More
creative methods have also been employed to create the same
effect while making it more difficult for the search engines to
detect or filter it. It is primarily used for the purpose of
including extra keywords in the page without distorting the
aesthetics of the page. Most search engines penalize or ignore
URLs from web sites that use this practice.
Hit – The request or retrieval of any item located
within a web page. For example, if a user enters a web page with
5 pictures on it, it would be counted as 6 “hits.” One hit is
counted for the web page itself, and another 5 hits count for
the pictures.
IFRAME – “IFrame (from inline frame) is an HTML
element which makes it possible to embed another HTML document
inside the main document. The size of the IFrame is specified in
the surrounding HTML page, so that the surrounding page can
already be presented in the browser while the IFrame is still
being loaded. The IFrame behaves much like an inline image, and
the user can scroll it out of view. On the other hand, the
IFrame can contain its own scroll bar, independent of the
surrounding page's scroll bar. Source: Wikipedia
IPTV – Acronym for Internet Protocol Television, which
delivers digital television service using the Internet Protocol
over a network. IPTV delivery may be through a high capacity,
high speed broadband connection. Compared to traditional
broadcast and cable television, IPTV may offer new venues for
PPC search advertisers through program interfaces and stored
individual preferences. Source: Wikipedia
Impression – One view or display of an ad. Ad reports
list total impressions per ad, which tells you the number of
times your ad was served by the search engine when searchers
entered your keywords (or viewed a content page containing your
keywords).
Index – A search engine’s “index” refers to the amount
of documents found by a search engines crawler on the web.
Indexability - Also known as crawlability and
spiderability. Indexability refers to the potential of a
web site or its contents to be crawled or “indexed” by a search
engine. If a site is not “indexable,” or if a site has reduced
indexability, it has difficulties getting its URLs included.
IP Address – “Dedicated and shared IPs. –(An IP
address is) an identifier for a computer or device on a TCP/IP
network. Networks using the TCP/IP protocol route messages based
on the IP address of the destination. The format of an IP
address is a 32-bit numeric address, written as four numbers
separated by periods. Each number can be zero to 255. For
example, 1.160.10.240 could be an IP address.” Source:
Webopedia. (Added definition) An IP Address can be
dedicated for one web site or shared by multiple web sites.
IP Address – Abbreviation for Internet Protocol
Address, a unique combination of numbers assigned to individual
electronic devices or networks that communicate over the
Internet. Basically, it’s a trackable address for any computer,
and it can be used to localize results (see Geo-Targeting).
Internet Assigned Numbers Authority (IANA) oversees global IP
address allocation.
IP Address Lookup – The process of
determining a unique Internet Protocol (IP) address. DNSstuff is
one free program to look up an IP address (http://www.dnsstuff.com).
IASAPI_rewrite - ISAPI_rewrite is a powerful URL
manipulation engine based on regular expressions. It acts mostly
like Apache's mod_rewrite, but is designed specifically for
Microsoft's Internet Information Server (IIS). ISAPI_rewrite is
an ISAPI filter written in pure C/C++ so it is extremely fast.
ISAPI_rewrite gives you the freedom to go beyond the standard
URL schemes and develop your own scheme. Source:
http://www.isapirewrite.com
J
JavaScript – JavaScript is a scripting language based
on prototype-based programming. It is used on a web site as
client-side JavaScript, and also to enable scripting access to
objects in other applications.
K
Keyword - A single word that relates to a specific
subject or topic. For example, “glossary” would be a keyword for
this document. See also Keyword Phrase.
Keyword / Keyword Phrase – A specific word or
combination of words that a searcher might type into a search
field. Includes generic, category keywords; industry-specific
terms; product brands; common misspellings and expanded
variations (called Keyword Stemming), or multiple words
(called Long Tail for their lower CTRs but sometimes
better conversion rates). All might be entered as a search
query. For example, someone looking to buy coffee mugs might use
the keyword phrase “ceramic coffee mugs.” Also, keywords – which
trigger ad network and contextual network ad serves – are the
auction components on which PPC advertisers bid for all Ad
Groups/Orders and campaigns.
Keyword Density - The number of times a keyword
or keyword phrase is used in the body of a page. This is a
percentage value determined by the number of words on the page,
as opposed to the number of times the specific keyword appears
within it. In general, the higher the number of times a keyword
appears in a page, the higher its density.
Keyword Phrase – Two or more keywords relating to a
specific topic. For example, “Mind numbingly boring glossary”
would be a keyword phrase to describe this document.
Keyword Stemming – To return to the root or stem of a
word and build additional words by adding a prefix or suffix, or
using pluralization. The word can expand in either direction and
even add words, increasing the number of variable options.
Keyword Stuffing – Generally refers to the act of
adding an inordinate number of keyword terms into the HTML or
tags of a web page.
Keyword Tag - Refers to the META keywords tag within a
web page. This tag is meant to hold approximately 8 – 10
keywords or keyword phrases, separated by commas. These phrases
should be either misspellings of the main page topic, or terms
that directly reflect the content on the page on which they
appear. Keyword tags are sometimes used for internal search
results as well as viewed by search engines.
Keyword Targeting – Displaying Pay Per Click search
ads on publisher sites across the Web (see also Contextual
Networks) that contain the keywords in a context
advertiser’s Ad Group.
KPI, Key Performance Indicators -- KPI are metrics
used to quantify objectives that reflect the strategic
performance of your online marketing campaigns. They provide
business and marketing intelligence to assess a measurable
objective and the direction in which that objective is headed.
(See Module 5, Lesson 2, for key definitions for general and SEO-specific
KPIs.)
L
Landing Page / Destination Page – The web page at
which a searcher arrives after clicking on an ad. When creating
a PPC ad, the advertiser displays a URL (and specifies the exact
page URL in the code) on which the searcher will land after
clicking on an ad in the SERP. Landing pages are also known as
“where the deal is closed,” as it is landing page actions that
determine an advertiser’s conversion rate success.
Latent Semantic Indexing - LSI uses word associations
to help search engines know more accurately what a page is
about.
Lead Generation – Web sites that generate leads for
products or services offered by another company. On a lead
generation site, the visitor is unable to make a purchase but
will fill out a contact form in order to get more information
about the product or service presented. A submitted contact form
is considered a lead. It contains personal information about a
visitor who has some degree of interest in a product or service.
Link Cardinality – See “Link Popularity.”
Link Farming – The attempt to substantially and
artificially increase link popularity.
Link Popularity – Link popularity generally refers to
the total number of links pointing to any particular URL. There
are typically two types of link popularity: Internal and
External. Internal link popularity typically refers to the
number of links or pages within a web site that link to a
specific URL. External link popularity refers to the number of
inbound links from external web sites that are pointing to a
specific URL. If you have more “links” than your competitors,
you are typically known to have link cardinality or link
superiority.
Linkbait – Also known as link bait, this is
something on your site that people will notice and link to. By
linking to your site, other sites are saying they value the
content of your site and that they think other people will be
interested in it, too.
Linking Profile – A profile is a representation of the
extent to which something exhibits various characteristics. A
linking profile is the results of an analysis of where of your
links are coming from.
Log File - All server software stores information
about web site incoming and outgoing activities. Web log files
function like the “black box” that records everything during an
airplane’s flight. The log file is usually in the root directory
but it may also be found in a secondary folder. If you do not
have permission to access these files, then you will need the
help of the server administrator.
Log File Analysis - The analysis of records stored in
the log file. In its raw format, the data in the log files can
be hard to read and overwhelming. There are numerous log file
analyzers that convert log file data into user-friendly charts
and graphs. A good analyzer is generally considered an essential
tool in SEO because it can show search engine statistics such as
the number of visitors received from each search engine, the
keywords each visitors used to find the site, visits by search
engine spiders etc.
Source:
www.thewebdivision.com/glossary.html
Long Tail – Keyword phrases with at least
three, sometimes four or five, words in them. These long tail
keywords are usually highly specific and draw lower traffic than
shorter, more competitive keyword phrases, which is why they are
also cheaper. Oftentimes, long tail keywords, in aggregate, have
good conversion ratios for the low number of click-throughs they
generate.
Long-tailed Keywords – Keyword phrases with at least 2
or 3 words in them.
M
Meta Feeds – Ad networks that pull advertiser
listings from other providers. They may or may not have their
own distribution and advertiser networks.
META Refresh redirect - A client-side redirect.
Metrics - A system of measures that helps to quantify
particular characteristics. In SEO the following are some
important metrics to measure: overall traffic, search engine
traffic, conversions, top traffic-driving keywords, top
conversion-driving keywords, keyword rankings, etc.
Minimum Bid – The least amount that an
advertiser can bid for a keyword or keyword phrase and still be
active on the search ad network. This amount can range from
$0.01 to $0.50 (or more for highly competitive keywords), and
are set by the search engine.
Mod_rewrite - URL Rewrite processes, also known as “mod
rewrites,” are employed when a webmaster decides to
reorganize a current web site, either for the benefit of better
user experience with a new directory structure or to clean up
URLs which are difficult for search engines to index.
Multivariate Testing – A type of testing that varies
and tests more than one or two campaign elements at a time to
determine the best performing elements and combinations.
Multivariate testing can gather significant results on many
different components of, for example, alternative PPC ad titles
or descriptions in a short period of time. Often it requires
special expertise to analyze complex statistical results.
(Compare to A/B Testing which changes only one element at
a time, alternately serving an “old” version ad and a changed
ad.) In search advertising, you might do A/B Split or
Multivariate testing to learn what parts of a landing page
(background color, title, headline, fill in forms, design,
images) produce higher conversions and are more cost effective.
N
Naked Links – A posted and visible link in the text of
a web page that directs to a web site.
Negative Keywords – Filtered-out keywords to prevent
ad serves on them in order to avoid irrelevant click-through
charges on, for example, products that you do not sell, or to
refine and narrow the targeting of your Ad Group’s keywords.
Microsoft adCenter calls them "excluded keywords." Formatting
negative keywords varies by search engine; but they are usually
designated with a minus sign.
No Frames Tag - A tag used to describe the content of
a frame to a user or engine which had trouble displaying /
reading frames. Frequently misused and often referred to as
“Poor mans cloaking”.
No Script Tag - The noscript element is used to define
an alternate content (text) if a script is NOT executed. This
tag is used for browsers that recognizes the <script> tag, but
does not support the script in it.
NoFollow - NoFollow is an attribute webmasters can
place on links that tell search engines not to count the
link as a vote or not to send any trust to that site.
Search engines will follow the link, yet it will not influence
search results. NoFollows can be added to any link with this
code: “rel="nofollow"."
O
Organic Results – Listings on SERPs that were not paid
for; listings for which search engines do not sell space. Sites
appear in organic (also called “natural”) results because a
search engine has applied formulas (algorithms) to its search
crawler index, combined with editorial decisions and content
weighting, that it deems important enough inclusion without
payment. Paid Inclusion Content is also often considered
"organic" even though it is paid advertising because paid
inclusion content usually appears on SERPs mixed with unpaid,
organic results.
Organic Search Listings - Listings that search engines
do not sell (unlike paid listings). Instead, sites appear solely
because a search engine has deemed it editorially important for
them to be included, regardless of payment. Paid Inclusion
Content is also often considered "organic" even though it is
paid for. This is because paid inclusion content usually appears
intermixed with unpaid organic results.
Organic Search Rankings – Search engine ranking of web
pages found in SERPs.
P
P4P – Acronym for Pay for Performance, also designated
as PFP. See also PPC Advertising.
PFP – Acronym for Pay for Performance; also designated
as P4P. See also PPC Advertising.
PPC – Acronym for Pay Per Click. See also PPC
Advertising.
PPCSE – Acronym for Pay-Per-Click Search Engine.
PageRank (PR) – PR is the Google technology developed
at Stanford University for placing importance on pages and web
sites. At one point, PageRank (PR) was a major factor in
rankings. Today it is one of hundreds of factors in the
algorithm that determines a page’s rankings.
Paid Inclusion – Refers to the process of paying a fee
to a search engine in order to be included in that search engine
or directory. Also known as “guaranteed inclusion.” Paid
inclusion does not impact rankings of a web page; it merely
guarantees that the web page itself will be included in the
index. These programs were typically used by web sites that were
not being fully crawled or were incapable of being crawled, due
to dynamic URL structures, frames, etc.
Pay Per Call – A model of paid advertising similar to
Pay Per Click (PPC), except advertisers pay for every phone call
that comes to them from a search ad, rather than for every
click-through to their web site landing page for the ad. Often
higher cost than PPC advertising; but valued by advertisers for
higher conversion rates from consumers who take the action step
of telephoning an advertiser.
Personas – These are "people types" or sub-groups that
encompass several attributes, such as gender, age, location,
salary level, leisure activities, lifestyle characteristics,
marital/family status or some kind of definable behavior. Useful
profiles for focusing ad messages and offers to targeted
segments.
Podcasts – “A podcast is a media file that is
distributed over the internet using syndication feeds, for
playback on portable media players and personal computers. Like
'radio,' it can mean both the content and the method of
syndication. The latter may also be termed podcasting.
The host or author of a podcast is often called a podcaster.”
Source: Wikipedia
Position – In PPC advertising, position is the
placement on a search engine results page where your ad appears
relative to other paid ads and to organic search results. Top
ranking paid ads (high ranking 10 to 15 results, depending on
the engine) usually appear at the top of the SERP and on the
“right rail” (right-side column of the page). Ads appearing in
the top three paid-ad or Sponsored Ad slots are known as Premium
Positions. Paid search ad position is determined by confidential
algorithms and Quality Score measures specific to each search
engine. However, factors in the engines’ position placement
under some advertiser control include bid price, the ad’s CTR,
relevancy of your ad to searcher requests, relevance of your
click-through landing page to the search request, and quality
measures search engines calculate to ensure quality user
experience.
Position Preference – A feature in Google
AdWords and in Microsoft adCenter enabling advertisers to
specify in which positions they would like their ads to appear
on the SERP. Not a position guarantee.
PPC Advertising – Acronym for Pay-Per-Click
Advertising, a model of online advertising in which advertisers
pay only for each click on their ads that directs searchers to a
specified landing page on the advertiser’s web site. PPC ads may
get thousands of impressions (views or serves of the ad); but,
unlike more traditional ad models billed on a CPM
(Cost-Per-Thousand-Impressions) basis, PPC advertisers only pay
when their ad is clicked on. Charges per ad click-through are
based on advertiser bids in hybrid ad space auctions and are
influenced by competitor bids, competition for keywords and
search engines’ proprietary quality measures of advertiser ad
and landing page content.
PPC Management – The monitoring and maintenance of a
Pay-Per-Click campaign or campaigns. This includes changing bid
prices, expanding and refining keyword lists, editing ad copy,
testing campaign components for cost effectiveness and
successful conversions, and reviewing performance reports for
reports to management and clients, as well as results to feed
into future PPC campaign operations.
Q
Quality Score – A number assigned by Google to
paid ads in a hybrid auction that, together with maximum CPC,
determines each ad’s rank and SERP position. Quality Scores
reflect an ad’s historical CTR, keyword relevance, landing page
relevance, and other factors proprietary to Google. Yahoo!
refers to the Quality Score as a Quality Index. And both Google
and Yahoo! display 3- or 5-step indicators of quality
evaluations for individual advertisers.
Query – The keyword or keyword phrase a searcher
enters into a search field, which initiates a search and results
in a SERP with organic and paid listings.
R
ROAS – Acronym for Return On Advertising Spending, the
profit generated by ad campaign conversions per dollar spent on
advertising expenses. Calculated by dividing advertising-driven
profit by ad spending.
ROI – Acronym for Return On Investment, the amount of
money you make on your ads compared to the amount of money you
spend on your ads. For example, if you spend $100 on PPC ads and
make $150 from those ads, then your ROI would be 50%.
(Calculated as: ($150 - $100) / 100 = $50 / 100 = 50%.) The
higher your ROI, the more successful your advertising, although
some practitioners in search advertising consider ROAS a more
useful metric, as it breaks down cost and expenses by
conversions per advertising dollar spent.
RSS – Acronym for Rich Site Summary or Real Simple
Syndication, a family of web feed formats that leverages
XML for
distributing and sharing headlines and information from other
web content (also known as syndication).
Rank – How well positioned a particular web page or
web site appears in search engine results. For example, if you
rank at position #1, you’re the first listed paid or sponsored
ad. If you’re in position #18, it is likely that your ad appears
on the second or third page of search results, after 17
competitor paid ads and organic listings. Rank and position
affect your click-through rates and, ultimately, conversion
rates for your landing pages.
Raw Data Feed – Raw data is information that has been
collected but not formatted, analyzed or processed. This raw
data can be used to build an optimized XML feed.
Reciprocal Link – Two different sites that link out to
each other. Also referred to as Cross Linking.
Relative URL’s Link - Relative URLs link to
just the file, for example, “page1.htm”. (See also Absolute
URL’s link.)
Relevance – In relation to PPC advertising, relevance
is a measure of how closely your ad title, description, and
keywords are related to the search query and the searcher’s
expectations.
Reverse DNS – A process to determine the hostname or
host associated with an IP or host address.
Revshare / Revenue Sharing – A method of
allocating per-click revenue to a site publisher, and
click-through charges to a search engine that distributes
paid-ads to its context network partners, for every page viewer
who clicks on the content site’s sponsored ads. A type of
site finder’s fee.
Rich Media – Media with embedded motion or
interactivity. A growing option for PPC advertisers as rates of
broadband connectivity increase.
Right Rail – The common name for the right-side
column of a web page. On a SERP, right rail is usually where
sponsored listings appear.
Robots.txt - A text file present in the root directory
of a website which is used to direct the activity of search
engine crawlers. This file is typically used to tell a crawler
which portions of the site should be crawled and which should
not be crawled.
RSS (Really Simply Syndication, Rich Site Summary, RDF
Site Summary) - A family of web feed formats used for
distributing frequently updated digital content, such as blogs,
news, podcasts, and videos
RSS Aggregators – “A client software that uses
web feed to retrieve syndicated web content such as blogs,
podcasts, vlogs, and mainstream mass media websites, or in the
case of a search aggregator, a customized set of search
results….Such applications are also referred to as RSS
readers, feed readers, feed aggregators,
news readers or search aggregators. These have been
recently supplemented by the so-called RSS-narrators
[such as TalkingNews or Talkr] which not only aggregate news
feeds but also converts them into podcasts.” Source:
Wikipedia
S
SEO – Acronym for “Search Engine Optimization.” This
is the process of editing a web site’s content and code in order
to improve visibility within one or more search engines. When
this term is used to describe an individual, it stands for
“Search Engine Optimizer” or one who performs SEO.
SERP – Acronym for Search Engine Results Page, the
page delivered to a searcher that displays the results of a
search query entered into the search field. Displays both paid
ad (sponsored) and organic listings in varying positions or
rank.
SSP Feed – See Search Submit Pro and Feeds.
Saturation (Search Engine Saturation) -- A term
relating to the number of URLs included from a specific web site
in any given search engine. The higher the saturation level or
number of pages indexed into a search engine, the higher the
potential traffic levels and rankings.
Search Directory - Similar to a search engine, in that
they both compile databases of web sites. A directory does not
use crawlers in order to obtain entries in its search database.
Instead, it relies on user interaction and submissions for the
content it contains. Submissions are then categorized by topic
and normally alphabetized, so that the results of any search
will start with site descriptions that begin with some number or
non-letter character, then moving from A-to-Z.
Search Engines - A search engine is a database of many
web pages. Most engines display the number of web pages they
hold in their database at any given time. A search engine
generally “ranks” or orders the results according to a set of
parameters. These parameters (called algorithms) vary among
search engines; they are always improving in order to identify
spam as well as improve relevance. See also SERP, Algorithm.
Search Funnel – Movement of searchers, who tend to do
several searches before reaching a buy decision, that works from
broad, general keyword search terms to narrower, specific
keywords. Advertisers use the search funnel to anticipate
customer intent and develop keywords targeted to different
stages. Also refers to potential for switches at stages in the
funnel when, for example, searchers start with keywords for a
desired brand, but switch to other brands after gathering
information on the category. Microsoft AdCenter tested a search
funnel keyword tool in 2006 to target keywords to search funnel
stages.
Search Query – The word or phrase a searcher types
into a search field, which initiates search engine results page
listings and PPC ad serves. In PPC advertising, the goal is to
bid on keywords that closely match the search queries of the
advertiser’s targets. See also Query.
Search Submit Pro (SSP) – Search Submit Pro is
Yahoo!’s paid inclusion product that uses a “feed” tactic. With
Search Submit Pro, Yahoo! crawls your web site as well as an
optimized XML feed that represents the content on your site.
Yahoo! applies its algorithm to both the actual web site pages
and the XML feed to determine which listing is most appropriate
to appear in the organic search results when a user conducts a
search for relevant terms. Yahoo! charges a CPC, determined by
category, for each time a listing established through SSP is
clicked.
Secondary Links – Links that are indirectly acquired
links, such as a story in a major newspaper about a new product
your company released.
Semantic Clustering – A technique for developing
relevant keywords for PPC Ad Groups, by focusing tightly on
keywords and keyword phrases that are associative and closely
related, referred to as "semantic clustering.” Focused and
closely-related keyword groups, which would appear in the
advertiser’s ad text and in the content of the click-through
landing page, are more likely to meet searchers’ expectations
and, therefore, support more effective advertising and
conversion rates.
Server-side Tracking -- The process of analyzing web
server log files. Server-side analytics tools make sense of raw
data to generate meaningful reports and trends analysis.
Session Id’s – dynamic parameters, such as session IDs
generated by cookies for each individual user. Session IDs
cause search engines to see a different URL for each page each
time that they return to re-crawl a web site.
Share of Voice –”A brand's (or group of brands')
advertising weight, expressed as a percentage of a defined total
market or market segment in a given time period. SOV advertising
weight is usually defined in terms of expenditure, ratings,
pages, poster sites, etc.” Source: Wikipedia
Siloing – Siloing (also known as Theming) is a
site architecture technique used to split the focus of a site
into multiple themes. The goal behind siloing is to create a
site that ranks well for both its common and more-targeted
keywords. Source: Bruce Clay Newsletter 09/06
Site-Targeted Ads – Site targeting lets advertisers
display their ads on manually-selected sites in the search
engine’s content network for content or contextual ad serves.
Site-targeted ads are billed more like traditional display ads,
per 1000 impressions (CPM), and not on a Pay-Per-Click basis.
Social Media or Social Search – Sites where
users actively participate to determine what is popular.
SPAM – Any search marketing method that a search
engine deems to be detrimental to its efforts to deliver
relevant, quality search results. Some search engines have
written guidelines on their definitions and penalties for SPAM.
Examples include doorway landing pages designed primarily to
game search engine algorithms rather than meet searcher
expectations from the advertiser’s clicked-on ad; keyword
stuffing in which search terms that motivated a click-through
are heavily and redundantly repeated on a page in place of
relevant content; attempts to redirect click-through searchers
to irrelevant pages, product offers and services; and landing
pages that simply compile additional links on which a searcher
must click to get any information. Determining what constitutes
SPAM is complicated by the fact that different search engines
have different standards, including what is allowable for
listings gathered through organic methods versus paid inclusion
(referred to as spamdexing), whether the listing is from a
commercial or research/academic source, etc. Source:
Webmaster World Forums
Spamming – Spamming refers to a wide array of
techniques used to “trick” the search engines. These tactics
generally are against the guidelines put forth by the search
engines. Tactics such as Hidden text, Doorway Pages, Content
Duplication and Link Farming are but a few of many spam
techniques employed over the years. (Also see: delicious
lunchmeat.)
Spider – See Crawler.
Splash Page – Refers to an entry page or main page of
a web site that is interactive or graphically intense. Many
splash pages are designed using Flash.
Sponsored Listing – A term used as a title or column
head on SERPs to identify paid advertisers and distinguish
between paid and organic listings. Alternate names are Paid
Listings or Paid Sponsors. Separating paid listings
from organic results enables searchers to make their own
purchase and site trust decisions and, in fact, resulted from an
FTC complaint filed by Commercial Alert in 2001 alleging that
the confusion caused in consumers who saw mixed paid and unpaid
results constituted fraud in advertising.
Statistical Validity – The degree to which an observed
result, such as a difference between two measurements, can be
relied upon and not attributed to random error in sampling or in
measurement. Statistical Validity is important to the
reliability of test results, particularly in Multivariate
Testing methods. Source: UsabilityFirst.com
Stop Word A word that often appears in a page’s copy
or content, but it has no significance by itself. Examples of
stop words are: and, the, of, etc.
Submission - The act of submitting a web site to
search engines and search directories. For some search engines,
this is performed simply by typing in the absolute home page URL
of the web site you wish to submit. Other engines and
directories request that descriptions of the web site be
submitted for approval.
Super Verbs - Compelling verbs that trigger emotions
or visual images.
T
TLP – Acronym for Top Level Page, a reference to the
home page, category pages, or product pages that have unique
value for the site and so are structured in the top levels of
the site directory.
TLP Feed – Acronym for Top Level Page feed, the often
automatic and on-subscription feed of an advertiser’s home page
or unique category pages. See also Feeds.
Tail Terms – Search terms that are very specific, long
phrases that include one or more modifiers, such as "cheapest
helicopter skiing near Banff BC." These longer, more specific
terms are called "tail terms" based on a bell-curve distribution
of keyword usage that displays the low numbers of little-used
terms at the “tail” end of the bell curve graph. (See “The Long
Tail” by Wired editor Chris Anderson.) Although long,
specific and lesser-used tail terms have low CTRs, they are less
competitive (and therefore cheaper) and often catch buyers at
the end of the purchase decision process. This means that, even
with low click-through numbers, tail terms can have good
conversion rates. See also Head Terms.
Targeting – Narrowly focusing ads and keywords to
attract a specific, marketing-profiled searcher and potential
customer. You can target to geographic locations
(geo-targeting), by days of the week or time of day (dayparting),
or by gender and age (demographic targeting). Targeting features
vary by search engine. Newer ad techniques and software focus on
behavioral targeting, based on web activity and behaviors that
are predictive for potential customers who might be more
receptive to particular ads.
Themes - A theme is an overall idea of what a web page
is focused on. Search engines determine the theme of a web page
through analysis in the algorithm of the density of associated
words on a page.
Tier I Search Engines – The top echelon, or top
three, search engines that serve the vast majority of searcher
queries. Also referred to as Major Engines, Top Tier Engines or
GYM, for Google, Yahoo! and Microsoft Live Search.
Tier II Search Engines – Smaller, vertical and
specialized engines, including general engines, such as Ask.com
and AOL; meta-engines that search and display results from other
search engines, such as Dogpile; local engines, shopping and
comparison engines, and business vertical engines. Tier II
Search Engines don’t offer the search query market share or
features of the Tier I engines; however, Tier II engines can
target specific, niche markets and are usually lower cost.
Tier III Search Engines – Contextual distribution
networks, through which marketers’ ads appear on pages within
the PPC engine’s content network, triggered by user web site
page views at the moment that contain the advertiser’s keyword
in its content. Cost is usually through
Cost-Per-Thousand-Impressions (CPM) charges, rather than Pay Per
Click (PPC). As discussed in Fundamentals coursework, Google’s
contextual distribution program is called AdSense; Yahoo!’s is
called Content Match.
Title Tag - An HTML tag appearing in the <head> tag of
a web page that contains the page title. The page title
should be determined by the relevant contents of that
specific web page. The contents of a title tag for a web page is
generally displayed in a search engine result as a bold blue
underlined hyperlink.
Trackbacks - A protocol that allows a blogger to link
to posts, often on other blogs, that relate to a selected
subject. Blogging software that supports Trackback includes a
"TrackBack URL" with each post that displays other blogs that
have linked to it. Source: Blog Terms Glossary Tech at
Whatis.techtarget.com
Tracking URL – A specially designed and/or
unique URL created to track an action or conversion from paid
advertising. The URL can include strings that will show what
keyword was used, what match type was triggered, and what search
engine delivered the visitor.
Trademarks – Distinctive symbols, pictures or words
that identify a specific product or service. Received through
registration with the U.S. Patent & Trademark Office. Tier I
search engines prohibit bids on trademarks as keywords if the
bidder is not the legal owner, though this keyword bid practice
is still allowed by Google.
Traffic – Refers to the number of visitors a website
receives. It can be determined by examination of web logs.
Traffic Analysis – The process of analyzing traffic to
a web site to understand what visitors are searching for and
what is driving traffic to a site.
Trusted Feed – Also known as Paid Inclusion, a
trusted feed is a fee-based custom crawl service offered by some
search engines. These results appear in the “organic search
results” of the engine. Typically, the fee is based on a “cost
per click,” depending on the category of site content. It has
been called a “Trusted Feed” due to the ability to actually
alter the content in the feed, without changing the existing
website. Also see: Paid Inclusion.
TXT//AD – Text ads as mobile device text messages.
U
USPTO – Acronym for United States Patent & Trademark
Office. See also Trademarks.
Unique Visitor – Identifies an actual web surfer (as
opposed to a crawler) and is tracked by a unique identifiable
quality (typically IP address). If a visitor comes to a web site
and clicks on 100 links, it is still only counted as one unique
visit.
Usability – This term refers to how "user friendly" a
web site and its functions are. A site with good usability is a
site that makes it easy for visitors to find the information
they are looking for or to perform the action they desire. Bad
usability is anything that causes confusion or problems for the
user. For example, large Flash animations served to a visitor
with a dial up connection causes poor usability. Easy, intuitive
navigation and clear, informative text enhance usability.
User Agent - This is the identity of a web site
visitor, spider, browser, etc. The most common user agents are
Mozilla and Internet Explorer.
V
Value Propositions – “A customer value
proposition is the sum total of benefits a customer is promised
to receive in return for his or her custom and the associated
payment (or other value transfer).“ A customer value proposition
is what is promised by a company's marketing and sales efforts,
and then fulfilled by its delivery and customer service
processes.” Source: Wikipedia
Vertical Creep – Positioning trends when
vertical listings appear at the top of organic search engine
results and below top sponsored listings (when they are
displayed on the SERP).
Vertical Portal / Vortal – Search engines that focus
on a specific industry or sector. Such vertical search engines
(also called “vortals”) have much more specific indexes and
provide narrower and more focused search results than the Tier I
search engines.
Verticals – A vertical is a specific business group or
category, such as insurance, automotive or travel. Vertical
search offers targeted search options and PPC opportunities to a
specific business category.
Viral Marketing – Also called viral advertising,
viral marketing refers to marketing techniques that use
pre-existing social networks to produce increases in brand
awareness. The awareness increases are the result of
self-replicating viral processes, analogous to the spread of
pathological and computer viruses. It can often be word-of-mouth
delivered and enhanced online; it can also harness the network
effect of the internet and can be very useful in reaching a
large number of people rapidly. Source: Wikipedia
W
Web Forwarding - Web forwarding allows for redirects
to exist within an .htaccess file on a separate server.
Web Server Logs – Most web server
software, and all good web analytics packages, keep a running
count of all search terms used by visitors to your site. These
running counts are kept in large text files called Log Files
or Web Server Logs. Useful for developing and refining
PPC campaign keyword lists.
Web TV – Television set-top boxes that allow
users to browse the Internet from their televisions without a
computer system. Perennial future opportunity as new PPC ad
channel offering the option to use rich media formats.
Wiki -- Software that allows people to contribute
knowledge on a particular topic. A wiki is another web
publishing platform that makes use of technologies similar to
blogs and also allows for collaboration with multiple people.
Wikipedia – “Wikipedia is a multilingual, web-based,
free content encyclopedia project. Wikipedia is written
collaboratively by volunteers; its articles can be edited by
anyone with access to the web site.” Source: Wikipedia
Word Count - The total number of words contained
within a web document.
X
XML – Stands for “Extensible Markup Language,” a data
delivery language.
XML Feeds – A form of paid inclusion in which a search
engine is fed information about an advertiser’s web pages via
XML, rather than requiring that the engine gather that
information through crawling actual pages. Marketers pay to have
their pages included in a spider-based search index based on an
XML format document that represents each page on the advertiser
site. Advertisers pay either annually per URL or on a CPC basis
– and are assured of frequent crawl cycles. New media types are
being introduced into paid inclusion, including graphics, video,
audio, and rich media.
XML Feeds -- A form of paid inclusion where a search
engine is "fed" information about pages via XML, rather than
gathering that information through crawling actual pages.
Marketers can pay to have their pages included in a spider-based
search index either annually (per URL), or on a CPC basis (based
on an XML document representing each page on the client site).
New media types are being introduced into paid inclusion,
including graphics, video, audio, and rich media.
XML Maps - XML maps are specially formatted links to
your pages. They will never replace the need for HTML site maps.
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